There’s A Lump In My Bed…or maybe four

There’s a lump in my bed, well more accurately four.  They wiggle, they jiggle and they definitely roar.   Making the bed can be quite the challenge with the writhing, laughing lumps under the covers.  But these four lumps are the light of my life and the inspiration for my first children’s book. 

I have been remiss in writing for my blog this year, as I have taken on a different challenge.  Inspired by the never-ending stories I live each day, and my four little lumps, I took my love for writing and rhyming and put it to work.  Although it started as hobby, too many people told me I was crazy not to do something with it.  So I bowed to the pressure and began the long, arduous journey of figuring out how to take my words, and Sandy’s amazing illustrations, and turn them into a book.

Bleed lines, margins, gutter margins, RGB versus CYMK color, .doc versus .html versus .pdf, borders and graphics, Photoshop, Pages, InDesign, Mac versus PC…Oh my goodness I think I fried my brain.  Yep, that has been the process.  Forget writing the book, formatting and publishing the book has been one of the biggest educational challenges I have faced in quite some time.  I know exactly why people hope and pray for a publisher and avoid self-publishing.

But the truth is, no matter how overwhelming the process has been, I have really enjoyed most of it.  In fact, I am looking forward to doing it again and maybe many more times, if I can manage it. 

I am extremely grateful to my wonderful children for all their inspiration, for my patient and always encouraging husband who has believed in me every step of the way, for the editing geniuses Elle and Vicki for reviewing my writing, for my wonderful family and friends who got to see the many versions of my book as it grew and developed into a final product and for the amazing Sandy, whose illustrations brought my story to life in the best way possible.

I suppose I can now say I am officially an author.  The paperback version of There’s A Lump In My Bed is currently available through Amazon.com and my direct sales link through CreateSpace.  I am also working on the hardback version, a much more complicated process, in addition to eBook options.

For anyone who is interested in buying my book, I have included links to my sales pages for easy access.  I am also asking everyone I know who has had the opportunity to read my book, to please leave a positive review on Amazon for future buyers.  I know how much I depend on reviews when I buy online.

In the mean time, I will keep on keeping on.  I will google “How To” questions for book printing by night, chase children during the day, work by morning, and I might even stop to eat and sleep at some point.  Life will never be boring but it sure has been much more exciting since I have pursued life as a children’s book author.

 Image

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Theres-Lump-In-My-Bed/dp/1492935611/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1385955127&sr=8-1&keywords=theres+a+lump+in+my+bed

CreateSpace:

https://www.createspace.com/4475098

 

 

Leave a Reply

